Coop the Great

A Novel

LARRY VERSTRAETE

SKU: 978-1-77337-009-5 Categories: , , , Tags: , , , , ,

$ 7.99$ 11.95

A Novel

Price:
$ 7.99$ 11.95
Add to Wishlist Browse Wishlist

More Books By LARRY VERSTRAETE

Description

Coop is an aging, cynical, down-and-out dachshund who faces the ultimate test when his new owner, Mike, and Mike’s grandchildren, Zach and Emma, run into trouble. Mike rescued him, but does Coop have what it takes to do the same?

 

Drawing strength from the stories about great dogs that Mike shares with him, Coop charts a dangerous journey to save his new family.


2020 MYRCA Sundog Nominee 

Selected Title: Best Books for Children and Teens 2019 Spring Edition


“sensitively examines the impact domestic abuse has on all members of the family as well as the damaging psychological effects repeated failed adoptions have on rescue animals. Tears are likely to be shed reading this book due to the authors’ deft hand in writing emotional scenes with cinematic sunrise quality. A quick and enjoyable read filled with endearing characters, moments of humour and heartfelt storytelling, Coop the Great is a wonderful middle-school novel for all readers. Perfect for both young readers who love animals, as well as a classroom or bedtime read-aloud focusing on important themes of empathy, heroism, and the power of a positive mindset, this is a novel worthy of purchase and priority placement on bookshelves.” — Highly Recommended, CM Magazine

 

“Every now and then, I come across a book that hits me so hard that I can’t stop thinking about it, this is one such book. I have to confess, I’ve read this book four, yes that’s right, four times … I wish I could give this book 100 stars, but, I am forced to only give it a meager five out of five.” My Book Abyss

 

“… the author really captures the voice of Coop. I have read many failed attempts at this point of view, but Verstraete does an amazing job. I don’t think I could survive another chapter in this book since it was filled with almost too much excitement for one small dog. Fans of Spencer Quinn, Bruce Cameron, and Garth Stein will love this one.” — BookHounds


 

Check out the Readers’ Guide for Coop The Great today!

LARRY VERSTRAETE

LARRY VERSTRAETE

Larry Verstraete is an award-winning Winnipeg author of eighteen books of fiction and non-fiction for kids and teens. A former middle-years teacher with a penchant for storytelling, his books have been on recommended reading lists and have received honours ranging from the McNally Robinson’s Book of the Year for Young People Award to BC’s Red Cedar Award and Ontario’s Silver Birch Award for Non-fiction.

Additional information

Weight 0.2 kg
Dimensions 12 × 21 × 2 cm
Format:

Epub, Mobi, Paperback